
REVISED LEGAL NOTICE  
STATE OF NEW JERSEY 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
DIVISION OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEALTH SERVICES 

Assisted Living Facility Rates 
 

TAKE NOTICE the New Jersey Department of Human Services (DHS), Division 

of Medical Assistance and Health Services (DMAHS) intends to seek approval from the 

United States Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS), for the following amendments to the New Jersey Medicaid 

(Title XIX) State Plan in order to implement budget provisions approved in New Jersey’s 

Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Spending Plan and the New Jersey Fiscal 

Year 2023 Appropriations Act. 

Notwithstanding any law or regulation to the contrary, DHS intends to seek any 

required approval by CMS such that assisted living facilities, comprehensive personal 

care homes, and assisted living programs, shall receive a per diem rate of no less than 

$89.50, $79.50, and $69.50, respectively, as reimbursement for each NJ FamilyCare 

beneficiary under their care. Additionally, DHS intends to increase the per diem rate for 

assisted living programs by $20 above the aforementioned rate. Lastly, DHS intends to 

increase per diem rates for assisted living residences and comprehensive personal care 

homes on a tiered basis for facilities whose population has a minimum of 15% Medicaid 

members. Those increases shall be $10, $15, $30, or $35 above the aforementioned 

rates dependent upon the facilities Medicaid population percentage. The estimated total 

costs for SFY 2023 and SFY 2024 are projected to be $13,040,000 ($6,520,000 State 

share) and $13,040,000 ($6,520,000 State share) respectively. 

The fee schedules will be published on the Department’s fiscal agent’s website at 

https://www.njmmis.com under “rate and code information” when available. 

This Notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of Federal statutes and 

regulations, specifically 42 CFR 447.205, and 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(13).  A copy of this 

Notice is available for public review at the Medical Assistance Customer Centers, County 

Welfare Agencies, and the Department’s website at: 

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html.  

Comments or inquiries must be submitted in writing within 30 days of the date of this 
notice to:        

      Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
Office of Legal & Regulatory Affairs 

Attention: Margaret Rose 
P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26 

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0712 

June 30, 2022

http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/providers/grants/public/index.html


Fax: 609-588-7343 
E-mail: Margaret.Rose@dhs.state.nj.us 
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